Where Hope Is Cold (31)

Benny walked down the steps, and, after a bit, I could hear him rustling around in the kitchen.  Glasses rattled, a door closed, there were steps, and then water started running.  He was still singing to himself, but now it was a different song, one about a four-leaf clover.  I guess Benny listened to a lot of radio.

The water turned off.  Something metallic squealed.  Steps retreated from the kitchen, back towards the study I thought.  A chair squeaked.  And Benny’s singing became louder.

I decided the kitchen door that I had left unlocked was my best play to get out of the house.  I eased myself down the steps as slowly and as quietly as I could.  One step groaned when I put weight on it, and I froze, but Benny didn’t stop singing.  After a minute or so, I moved on down another step.  Step by step and minute by minute, I made my way to the bottom of the stairs.

I sat there and listened.  Benny wasn’t singing any more, and I couldn’t be sure where he was.  I stood and carefully pushed on the wooden door that separated the stairs from the kitchen and opened it a crack.  Wherever Benny was, he wasn’t anywhere I could see.  I pushed the door open a little more and more of the kitchen and some of the hall came into view.

I looked through that little sliver and realized that once I opened the door and stepped into the kitchen, I would be visible to anyone in the hall.  And since I would have to turn my back to the hall to open the kitchen door, someone could come up behind me without me seeing them.  I didn’t like that.  Quietly I begged Benny to sing again.

I looked at my watch.  It was past time for me to be gone.  

I stood there and thought some more.  I was sure I could outrun Benny if it came to it.  But that wouldn’t matter if he had a pistol and could use it.  And I didn’t know if he carried a rod or not, but I had to figure that he did and that he could handle it.  Since he would be coming at me from behind, I couldn’t get the odds good enough to take a chance.  So, I just stood there, silently pleading with Benny to sing, while listening for anything that might let me know where he was.

I needed a cigarette and a drink of water but didn’t move.  The minutes marched along as I kept watch over that little sliver of Blinder’s kitchen and hall.  I cursed the caution that had kept me in that stairway far longer than it would have taken me to get out of the house and back to my car.  But I fought the voice that told me to take my chances now.

And then Benny finally moved.  I heard the chair squeak again, and I heard his footsteps coming down the hall, and then I could see him.  He walked into the kitchen with an empty glass in his hand.  He passed by the door and out of my view.  I heard him walk to the sink and fill the glass with water.  He stood there and drank.  I could hear every swallow.  He put the glass on the counter and walked out of the kitchen and back down the hall.

He must have gone into the dining room.  I heard a chair scrape across the floor, and I heard a chair whimper, and I could picture Benny settling all his bulk into one of those little chairs at the table.  Newspaper rustled.  And rustled again.  I was happy for the noise.  And then he started singing.

I held my breath and pushed the door open.  Slowly.  And all the while, sounds continued to flow from the dining room.  I stepped out of the stairway into the kitchen, padded silently to the door, turned the handle gently, and pulled.  The door didn’t move.

I looked at the lock.  The iron bar was back in place, and I remembered the metal squeal I had heard the first time Benny was in the kitchen.  Now he was singing, and I let out a long string of silent curses.

Papers rustled again and Benny reached the refrain of the four-leaf clover song and was singing quite loudly.  I tried to open the lock.

It didn’t want to move.  And I didn’t want to force it.  Instead, I pulled at it slowly, with a steady pressure.

It squealed.  And I stopped.

But Benny kept singing.

I don’t why I didn’t just yank that damn lock open, bust out of the door, and run like hell for the hedge.  My chances might have been pretty good.  I don’t know.  Benny would have been surprised and maybe confused.  I would be a moving target and could be pretty far down the walk before Benny even got out of the house.  But I didn’t.  Instead, I had an idea about lard or oil or grease.  I was in a kitchen, after all.

I was looking in cupboards, listening to Benny shuffle papers and sing, when I heard the distant grumble of Blinder’s gate opening.

Benny heard it, too.  Papers fell, a chair scrapped back, and footsteps started down the hall.

I made it back into the stairway and closed the door in time to watch Benny walk past the kitchen, towards the tower hall.  A door opened, and Benny called out, “Addison!”

Leave a comment